His unending pursuit.

High heels, layers of make up, revealing clothes and painted nails, fake hair and plenty of skin: To the human eye they are a shame and our limited minds often label them as less valuable. They tell me they love their job as their mask stretches out into a smile upon their faces, and it is as if they’re trying to persuade both me and themselves as the words leave their mouth. Little do they know that one glance into their eyes speaks another story – I see a little child searching for love after years of abuse, violence and disappointments. I see a heart shattered into pieces, and a twisted self image. I see satan’s lies surrounding their hearts like chains, and I see the mighty hand of God ready to release His beloved children from those chains. I see a Father’s pursuing heart for His lost sons and daughters, and I see Him standing beside them with open arms waiting for them to see Him. I see God clearer than ever before.

A couple of days ago I talked to one of the hardest and meanest prostitutes we encounter as we hand out coffee and cookies, and I couldn’t do anything, but to stand in awe of God’s pursuit upon his heart. This transvestite, who never talked to us or even liked us, was sitting next to me, sharing his deepest thoughts and dreams and talking about how he knew God was pursuing His heart. He’d encountered several taxi drivers in the last couple of weeks preaching to him about God’s love, and in his own words he told me that he knew this was not a coincidence. With tears in his eyes he told me how in the midst of his depression he’d called out to God for a simple beam of hope, and God miraculously changed the channel on his TV so that the testimony of a transformed transvestite was all over his screen. His hope was renewed. As he told me he wanted to leave the streets with the assurance of God’s hand being there with him, I was standing speechless and in  awe of God as the words from Psalm 139 came alive before my eyes.

Where can I go from Your Spirit? Or where can I flee from Your presence? If I ascend to heaven, You are there; If I make my bed in Sheol, behold, You are there. If I take the wings of the dawn, if I dwell in the remotest part of the sea, even there Your hand will lead me, and Your right hand will lay hold of me. If I say, “Surely the darkness will overwhelm me, and the light around me will be night,” Even the darkness is not dark to You, and the night is as bright as the day. Darkness and light are alike to You.

This guy, who spent his whole life running away from God and living in complete darkness, who thought he had no hope left, has never left God’s sight. Through the darkest of valleys and in the midst of hopelessness He never leaves our sides, and He never stops pursuing us.  Seeing His hand so heavily upon the life of His lost, broken son spoke so clearly to me about God’s sovereignty and unfathomable love for us. He truly never leaves us nor forsakes us, and His love is indeed too high, too deep, too wide and too long for Him to stop loving and pursuing us.

He’s the everlasting Father and the God almighty.

– Ruth

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

